Detective Bureau

Northern Ohio Violent Fugitive Task ForceThe detective bureau is comprised of five detectives who investigate many types of offenses such as: financial crimes including identity theft and fraud; burglary and robbery; sex crimes and child abuse; drug-related offenses; and other serious crimes.

Because investigating certain crimes requires a higher degree of technical skill and knowledge, each detective is trained in a specific area of expertise such as polygraph, narcotics investigations, homicide, arson, auto theft, sex crimes and human trafficking, and burglary.

One investigator is assigned to the Summit County Drug Unit and works to thwart the manufacture and distribution of drugs in Summit County. The Drug Unit was recognized by the Ohio Attorney General in 2008 for its outstanding achievements in the war on drugs. Our current narcotics detective won Detective of the Year for the Summit County Drug Unit in 2019.  The Bureau provides a separate phone line 330-689-DRUG for citizens to provide anonymous drug tips.